Founding Members

The vision of ten leading experts forms the bedrock of the Eastern Region Association of Forest and Nature Schools. Their self-less passion to support nature-based teachers is the driving force behind the creation of ERAFANS.

Amy Beam  |  Naturalist and ECEE Thought Leader of Franklin Montessori Schools
Washington, D.C.

Stephanie Bozzo  |  Founding Director of The Audubon Nature Preschool at the Audubon Naturalist Society
Chevy Chase, MD

Jessica Clayton  |  Director of Riverside Rhymes Nature Play School
Brick, New Jersey

Monica French  | Program Director/Lead Teacher for Wild Haven/Baltimore City Recreation and Parks
Baltimore, Maryland

Marianne Kay  |  Director of the New Canaan Nature Center Preschool
New Canaan, Connecticut

Karen Madigan  |  Preschool Director of The Nature Preschool at Irvine Nature Center
Owings Mills, Maryland

Nickie Weller  |  Director of the Children’s Treehouse at the National Conservation Training Center
Shepherdstown, West Virginia

Monica Wiedel-Lubinski  |  Executive Director of the Eastern Region Association of Forest and Nature Schools
Baltimore, Maryland

Shannon Wise  |  Director of Early Childhood Education, Schuylkill Center for Environmental Education
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania


As ERAFANS evolves, so does the role of our Founding Members. With their guidance, we are growing our Board of Directors - a group of experienced, down-to-earth advocates for early childhood environmental education. If you are interested in volunteering on our Board, please contact the executive director to learn more.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software